Join the US chapter of Africans Rising for Justice, Peace & Dignity as we celebrate Black liberation movements worldwide

AUGUST 27 - 31, 2020

BLACK

AUGUST

STANDING IN GLOBAL SOLIDARITY

Image by Johnny Silvercloud

Black August started in 1971 as a commemoration of the life and legacy of George Jackson, an American revolutionary murdered by a prison guard. Since then, it has become a month-long reflection on the incarcerated people, freedom fighters and revolutionaries who made it their life’s mission to defend and uplift Black lives. 

For Black people world wide, August has historically been a month for social change. The Haitian Revolution started in August 1791. In South Africa, the women’s movement came together in a powerful protest again apartheid in August 1956. The Republic of Congo celebrated independence in August 1960 and Jamaica gained its independence in August 1962.  During this month, we take the opportunity to reflect on the long history of Black freedom struggles. 

Standing on the shoulders of those who paid the ultimate price, we have the responsibility to continue the struggle! Recent murders of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor and so many others, as well as those who remain in prison and detention during a pandemic remind us of how much more needs to be done.

Join us, Monday, August 31 (12pm EST, 9am PST, 4pm GMT, 7pm EAT), as we honor, study, and push forward the unfinished work of African liberation. We are proud to have Danny Glover, Sekou Odinga, Soffiya Elijah, Lumumba Bandele, Linda Masarira, and Phillip Agnew joining us in conversation. 

We are so pleased to connect with you in this month of activism. We hope you can also take part in the Black August events scheduled below:

August 27 | 15:00 GMT

Webinar

Black Political Power

Register here

August 28 | 15:00 GMT

Live

US Voting

Political Prisoners

August 29 | 15:00 GMT

Concert

Online Concert

August 30 | 15:00 GMT

Concert

Hip Hop Concert